Hofstra vs Sacred Heart
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hofstra UniversityHempstead, NYCompass Score: Excellent · Top 19%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sacred Heart UniversityFairfield, CTCompass Score: Very good · Top 28%
At a glance
- Sacred Heart has the higher graduation rate: 73% against 69% at Hofstra.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Hofstra has the lower price after aid: $28,219 a year, against $38,691 at Sacred Heart.
- Hofstra has the lower average price after aid: about $34,000 a year, against about $46,000 at Sacred Heart.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 14%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Hempstead, NY
Fairfield, CT
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
10,393
11,179
Sports
NCAA Division I · Colonial Athletic Association
NCAA Division I · Northeast Conference
Admission
Admission rate
68%
65%
Average SAT
1319
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
28–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
73%
First-year retention
84%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$69,039
$75,059
Median debt
$23,621
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $34,000
About $46,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $28,000
About $39,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $31,000
About $41,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $33,000
About $42,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $37,000
About $46,000
Over $110,000
About $37,000
About $48,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Mechanical engineering $94,744
- Accounting $92,530
- Engineering Science $90,246
- Finance $89,518
- Allied health $88,238
- Nursing $103,244
- Finance $94,733
- Computing and information science $93,209
- Accounting $91,777
- Economics $80,970
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.