Hollins vs Sweet Briar
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hollins UniversityRoanoke, VACompass Score: Very good · Top 32%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sweet Briar CollegeSweet Briar, VACompass Score: Good · Top 49%
At a glance
- Hollins has the higher graduation rate: 65% against 52% at Sweet Briar.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Sweet Briar has the lower price after aid: $11,734 a year, against $17,511 at Hollins.
- Sweet Briar has the lower average price after aid: $17,758 a year, against $20,896 at Hollins.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Roanoke, VA
Sweet Briar, VA
Setting
Suburb
Rural
Students
782
464
Sports
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
68%
76%
Average SAT
1230
1230
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
52%
First-year retention
74%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$40,075
$51,943
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,896
$17,758
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,511
$11,734
$30,001–$48,000
$19,304
$12,568
$48,001–$75,000
$20,395
$15,247
$75,001–$110,000
$20,721
$20,188
Over $110,000
$26,826
$24,710
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Psychology $45,633
- English $38,172
- Fine arts $27,014
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.