Hope vs Lewis & Clark
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hope CollegeHolland, MICompass Score: Excellent · Top 16%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lewis & Clark CollegePortland, ORCompass Score: Very good · Top 21%
At a glance
- Hope has the higher graduation rate: 80% against 75% at Lewis & Clark.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Hope has the lower price after aid: $18,206 a year, against $22,712 at Lewis & Clark.
- Hope has the lower average price after aid: $27,182 a year, against $36,013 at Lewis & Clark.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 21%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 10%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 10%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Holland, MI
Portland, OR
Setting
City
City
Students
3,368
3,526
Sports
NCAA Division III · Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division III · Northwest Conference
Admission
Admission rate
79%
78%
Average SAT
1249
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
25–31
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
80%
75%
First-year retention
88%
89%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,427
$62,205
Median debt
$26,800
$19,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$27,182
$36,013
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,606
$15,962
$30,001–$48,000
$16,590
$18,362
$48,001–$75,000
$18,206
$22,712
$75,001–$110,000
$25,017
$25,917
Over $110,000
$32,754
$44,990
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $92,116
- Accounting $86,253
- Engineering (general) $82,513
- Nursing $75,738
- Business administration $65,755
- Economics $81,567
- International relations $57,783
- Psychology $55,288
- Communication studies $53,026
- Sociology and Anthropology $52,622
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.