Howard Payne vs Kansas Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Howard Payne UniversityBrownwood, TXCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Kansas Wesleyan UniversitySalina, KSCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Kansas Wesleyan has the higher graduation rate: 49% against 28% at Howard Payne.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Kansas Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $18,192 a year, against $24,043 at Howard Payne.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Kansas Wesleyan: $51,152, against $48,376 at Howard Payne.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Brownwood, TX
Salina, KS
Setting
Town
Town
Students
833
951
Sports
NCAA Division III · American Southwest Conference
NAIA · Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
67%
72%
Average SAT
1026
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
16–27
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
28%
49%
First-year retention
52%
60%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$48,376
$51,152
Median debt
$26,793
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
About $24,000
About $23,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $24,000
About $18,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $21,000
About $22,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $26,000
About $21,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $23,000
About $24,000
Over $110,000
About $24,000
About $25,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Secondary education $56,101
- Business administration $54,795
- Business administration $59,057
- Kinesiology and exercise science $48,500
- Teacher education $40,174
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.