Howard vs The New School
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Howard UniversityWashington, DCCompass Score: Excellent · Top 16%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.The New SchoolNew York, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 28%
At a glance
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Howard has the lower price after aid: $50,245 a year, against $56,494 at The New School.
- Howard has the lower average price after aid: $50,539 a year, against $58,741 at The New School.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Howard: $63,066, against $52,901 at The New School.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 16%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 28%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 16%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 12%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Washington, DC
New York, NY
Setting
City
City
Students
13,416
9,434
Sports
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
41%
63%
Average SAT
1213
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
22–28
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
69%
First-year retention
91%
85%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$63,066
$52,901
Median debt
$24,500
$22,266
Cost
Average price after aid
$50,539
$58,741
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$46,051
$50,140
$30,001–$48,000
$47,477
$52,812
$48,001–$75,000
$50,245
$56,494
$75,001–$110,000
$52,981
$59,894
Over $110,000
$54,270
$64,738
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Management information systems $103,478
- International business $100,344
- Accounting $98,645
- Nursing $94,136
- Business administration $88,875
- Software and media applications $75,792
- Arts management $74,936
- Broadcasting $64,018
- Liberal arts $62,976
- Design $56,838
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.