Huntingdon vs Montreat
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Huntingdon CollegeMontgomery, ALCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Montreat CollegeMontreat, NCCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Montreat has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 48% at Huntingdon.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Huntingdon has the lower price after aid: $20,435 a year, against $23,261 at Montreat.
- Huntingdon has the lower average price after aid: about $23,000 a year, against about $27,000 at Montreat.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Montgomery, AL
Montreat, NC
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
869
932
Sports
NCAA Division III · Collegiate Conference of the South
NAIA · Appalachian Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
69%
69%
Average SAT
1142
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
20–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
50%
First-year retention
67%
59%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,601
$45,151
Median debt
$27,000
$25,813
Cost
Average price after aid
About $23,000
About $27,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $20,000
About $23,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $20,000
About $25,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $23,000
About $25,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $25,000
About $26,000
Over $110,000
About $25,000
About $31,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $65,820
- Business (general) $55,452
- Business administration $54,784
- Kinesiology and exercise science $46,746
- Business administration $67,034
- Communication studies $41,209
- Other psychology $39,845
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.