Ithaca vs Merrimack
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ithaca CollegeIthaca, NYCompass Score: Excellent · Top 14%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Merrimack CollegeNorth Andover, MACompass Score: Very good · Top 34%
At a glance
- Ithaca has the higher graduation rate: 76% against 70% at Merrimack.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Ithaca has the lower price after aid: $21,901 a year, against $31,710 at Merrimack.
- Ithaca has the lower average price after aid: $33,926 a year, against $37,927 at Merrimack.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 14%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 12%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Ithaca, NY
North Andover, MA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
4,828
5,688
Sports
NCAA Division III · Upstate Collegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
69%
70%
Average SAT
1312
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
27–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
76%
70%
First-year retention
85%
79%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$63,548
$75,584
Median debt
$24,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$33,926
$37,927
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$21,901
$31,710
$30,001–$48,000
$23,335
$29,417
$48,001–$75,000
$28,832
$31,962
$75,001–$110,000
$31,846
$36,045
Over $110,000
$38,785
$41,050
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $102,626
- Computer science $98,373
- Rehabilitation and therapy $76,766
- Physiology and pathology $76,318
- Business administration $75,810
- Computer science $114,115
- Civil engineering $90,714
- Mechanical engineering $85,545
- Biology $79,581
- Physiology and pathology $74,379
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.