Jackson State vs Wright State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Jackson State UniversityJackson, MSCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Wright State UniversityDayton, OHCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Jackson State has the higher graduation rate: 51% against 42% at Wright State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Wright State has the lower price after aid: $14,501 a year, against $26,236 at Jackson State.
- Wright State has the lower average price after aid: $15,415 a year, against $23,836 at Jackson State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Jackson, MS
Dayton, OH
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
6,564
9,884
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southwestern Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Horizon League
Admission
Admission rate
93%
96%
Average SAT
965
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
15–20
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
42%
First-year retention
62%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$39,060
$49,500
Median debt
$30,470
$22,750
Cost
Average price after aid
$23,836
$15,415
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$22,869
$11,952
$30,001–$48,000
$22,516
$11,631
$48,001–$75,000
$26,236
$14,501
$75,001–$110,000
$26,388
$18,734
Over $110,000
$27,576
$20,720
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $90,577
- Computer engineering $89,702
- Civil engineering $78,824
- Accounting $59,996
- Teacher education $56,747
- Computer engineering $97,659
- Computing and information science $92,006
- Electrical engineering $89,391
- Management information systems $85,393
- Mechanical engineering $82,795
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.