College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

John Brown vs McDaniel

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • John Brown has the higher graduation rate: 72% against 63% at McDaniel.
  • For families earning up to $30,000, McDaniel has the lower price after aid: $12,210 a year, against $17,484 at John Brown.
  • Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at McDaniel: $60,663, against $53,907 at John Brown.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 27%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Siloam Springs, AR
Westminster, MD
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,341
2,882
Sports
NAIA · Sooner Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Centennial Conference
Admission
Admission rate
76%
78%
Average SAT
1195
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
21–28
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
72%
63%
First-year retention
81%
76%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$53,907
$60,663
Median debt
$21,250
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,397
$21,916
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,484
$12,210
$30,001–$48,000
$17,210
$17,261
$48,001–$75,000
$16,655
$19,796
$75,001–$110,000
$21,433
$21,408
Over $110,000
$24,627
$30,694
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Engineering (general) $90,783
  2. Accounting $82,703
  3. Business (general) $78,800
  4. Business administration $70,720
  5. Nursing $64,963
  1. Accounting $93,347
  2. Business administration $78,830
  3. Communication studies $65,411
  4. Psychology $60,264
  5. Sociology $55,851

Compare with another college

John Brown University · McDaniel College

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.