Johnson vs Lake Erie
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Johnson UniversityKnoxville, TNCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lake Erie CollegePainesville, OHCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Johnson has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 38% at Lake Erie.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Lake Erie has the lower price after aid: $18,548 a year, against $23,206 at Johnson.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Lake Erie: $50,417, against $40,596 at Johnson.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Knoxville, TN
Painesville, OH
Setting
Rural
Suburb
Students
950
942
Sports
NAIA · Appalachian Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Midwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
65%
70%
Average SAT
1078
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–24
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
38%
First-year retention
69%
59%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$40,596
$50,417
Median debt
$21,500
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,063
$20,961
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,246
$20,195
$30,001–$48,000
$19,212
$19,575
$48,001–$75,000
$23,206
$18,548
$75,001–$110,000
$25,075
$23,205
Over $110,000
$24,860
$22,370
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Bible/Biblical Studies $39,600
- Business administration $70,067
- Biology $57,506
- Criminal justice $49,426
- Psychology $48,687
- Teacher education $41,284
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.