Keystone vs Simpson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Keystone CollegeLa Plume, PACompass Score: SolidA-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Simpson CollegeIndianola, IACompass Score: Excellent · Top 19%
At a glance
- Simpson has the higher graduation rate: 63% against 36% at Keystone.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Simpson has the lower price after aid: $17,941 a year, against $21,925 at Keystone.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Simpson: $59,274, against $44,976 at Keystone.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 19%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 18%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
La Plume, PA
Indianola, IA
Setting
Suburb
Town
Students
1,051
1,163
Sports
NCAA Division III · United East Conference
NCAA Division III · American Rivers Conference
Admission
Admission rate
85%
86%
Average SAT
Not reported
1440
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
31–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
36%
63%
First-year retention
57%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,976
$59,274
Median debt
$26,000
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,051
$21,936
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$21,925
$17,941
$30,001–$48,000
$24,335
$15,764
$48,001–$75,000
$18,916
$19,176
$75,001–$110,000
$28,291
$22,468
Over $110,000
$30,271
$26,586
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $63,148
- Business administration $57,447
- Accounting $54,695
- Kinesiology and exercise science $52,747
- Other social sciences $46,452
- Computing and information science $93,749
- Computer science $91,318
- Accounting $76,272
- Business administration $69,958
- Mathematics $65,097
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.