King vs Southern Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.King UniversityBristol, TNCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southern Wesleyan UniversityCentral, SCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Southern Wesleyan has the higher graduation rate: 52% against 48% at King.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Southern Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $14,084 a year, against $22,696 at King.
- Southern Wesleyan has the lower average price after aid: $15,464 a year, against $22,347 at King.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Bristol, TN
Central, SC
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
1,295
1,188
Sports
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
Admission
Admission rate
100%
100%
Average SAT
Not reported
1140
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
22–28
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
52%
First-year retention
60%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$59,831
$47,756
Median debt
$22,750
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,347
$15,464
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$22,696
$14,084
$30,001–$48,000
$17,677
$14,218
$48,001–$75,000
$18,035
$14,230
$75,001–$110,000
$21,188
$14,899
Over $110,000
$27,219
$17,381
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $83,010
- Computing and information science $75,435
- Medical Illustration and Informatics $67,134
- Business administration $59,591
- Communication studies $58,770
- Business administration $62,278
- Criminology $52,534
- Biology $47,882
- Human services $47,528
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.