Kuyper vs Sterling
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Kuyper CollegeGrand Rapids, MICompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sterling CollegeCraftsbury Common, VTCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Kuyper has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 32% at Sterling.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Kuyper has the lower price after aid: $13,865 a year, against $24,564 at Sterling.
- Kuyper has the lower average price after aid: $15,644 a year, against $21,854 at Sterling.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
Not rated
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Craftsbury Common, VT
Setting
Suburb
Rural
Students
153
78
Sports
Not reported
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
69%
67%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
32%
First-year retention
59%
86%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$41,066
$30,573
Median debt
$21,389
$23,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$15,644
$21,854
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$14,024
$18,533
$30,001–$48,000
$10,765
$17,655
$48,001–$75,000
$13,865
$24,564
$75,001–$110,000
$24,243
Not reported
Over $110,000
$21,321
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Social work $35,472
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.