Lamar vs Purdue University Global
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lamar UniversityBeaumont, TXCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Purdue University GlobalWest Lafayette, INCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Purdue University Global has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 37% at Lamar.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Lamar has the lower price after aid: $7,568 a year, against $9,806 at Purdue University Global.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Lamar: $49,652, against $36,596 at Purdue University Global.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Beaumont, TX
West Lafayette, IN
Setting
City
City
Students
17,473
44,421
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southland Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
86%
Not reported
Average SAT
1061
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
37%
50%
First-year retention
62%
57%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,652
$36,596
Median debt
$21,250
$26,078
Cost
Average price after aid
$9,366
$7,770
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$7,568
$9,806
$30,001–$48,000
$8,261
$1,665
$48,001–$75,000
$8,545
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
$13,689
Not reported
Over $110,000
$16,292
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Electrical engineering $103,037
- Chemical Engineering $101,018
- Mechanical engineering $97,159
- Nursing $93,709
- Industrial Engineering $91,806
- Fire science $97,967
- Nursing $95,877
- Information technology $87,413
- Human resources $78,683
- Computing and information science $76,857
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.