Lamar vs Texas Woman's
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lamar UniversityBeaumont, TXCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Texas Woman's UniversityDenton, TXCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Texas Woman's has the higher graduation rate: 49% against 37% at Lamar.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Lamar has the lower price after aid: $8,545 a year, against $11,087 at Texas Woman's.
- Lamar has the lower average price after aid: $9,366 a year, against $11,963 at Texas Woman's.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 10%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Beaumont, TX
Denton, TX
Setting
City
City
Students
17,473
15,664
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southland Conference
NCAA Division II · Lone Star Conference
Admission
Admission rate
86%
96%
Average SAT
1061
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
37%
49%
First-year retention
62%
70%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,652
$56,544
Median debt
$21,250
$19,218
Cost
Average price after aid
$9,366
$11,963
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$7,568
$9,948
$30,001–$48,000
$8,261
$9,894
$48,001–$75,000
$8,545
$11,087
$75,001–$110,000
$13,689
$14,094
Over $110,000
$16,292
$19,093
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Electrical engineering $103,037
- Chemical Engineering $101,018
- Mechanical engineering $97,159
- Nursing $93,709
- Industrial Engineering $91,806
- Nursing $89,115
- Computing and information science $76,555
- Finance $71,282
- Accounting $67,214
- Dental assisting $66,034
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.