Lees-McRae vs McPherson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lees-McRae CollegeBanner Elk, NCCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.McPherson CollegeMcPherson, KSCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Lees-McRae has the higher graduation rate: 42% against 34% at McPherson.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Lees-McRae has the lower price after aid: $25,905 a year, against $28,655 at McPherson.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at McPherson: $52,084, against $43,415 at Lees-McRae.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Banner Elk, NC
McPherson, KS
Setting
Rural
Town
Students
839
788
Sports
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
NAIA · Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
77%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1058
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
18–23
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
34%
First-year retention
69%
65%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$43,415
$52,084
Median debt
$17,375
$25,242
Cost
Average price after aid
$28,340
$26,441
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$23,030
$22,587
$30,001–$48,000
$22,733
$20,939
$48,001–$75,000
$25,905
$28,655
$75,001–$110,000
$28,854
$28,737
Over $110,000
$33,664
$31,043
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $87,523
- Business administration $60,108
- Criminal justice $50,085
- Teacher education $45,862
- Psychology $44,161
- Mechanical engineering technology $52,781
- Kinesiology and exercise science $48,331
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.