Lenoir-Rhyne vs Otterbein
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lenoir-Rhyne UniversityHickory, NCCompass Score: SolidB+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Otterbein UniversityWesterville, OHCompass Score: Very good · Top 29%
At a glance
- Otterbein has the higher graduation rate: 68% against 48% at Lenoir-Rhyne.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Otterbein has the lower price after aid: $12,458 a year, against $18,669 at Lenoir-Rhyne.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Otterbein: $53,313, against $45,543 at Lenoir-Rhyne.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 29%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 50%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Hickory, NC
Westerville, OH
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
2,230
2,357
Sports
NCAA Division II · South Atlantic Conference
NCAA Division III · Ohio Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
85%
85%
Average SAT
Not reported
1220
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
22–28
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
68%
First-year retention
76%
80%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$45,543
$53,313
Median debt
$26,000
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $21,000
About $19,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $19,000
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $19,000
About $13,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $17,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $22,000
About $23,000
Over $110,000
About $26,000
About $25,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $78,839
- Kinesiology and exercise science $53,609
- Teacher education $44,131
- Nursing $80,188
- Business administration $70,328
- Health sciences $62,364
- Public relations $58,065
- Communication studies $51,006
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.