Lewis & Clark vs Reed
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lewis & Clark CollegePortland, ORCompass Score: Very good · Top 21%ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Reed CollegePortland, ORCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 7%
At a glance
- Lewis & Clark has the higher graduation rate: 75% against 71% at Reed.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Reed has the lower price after aid: $14,513 a year, against $22,712 at Lewis & Clark.
- Reed has the lower average price after aid: $33,013 a year, against $36,013 at Lewis & Clark.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 21%
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 7%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 10%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 6%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Portland, OR
Portland, OR
Setting
City
City
Students
3,526
1,458
Sports
NCAA Division III · Northwest Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
78%
25%
Average SAT
Not reported
1437
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
30–34
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
71%
First-year retention
89%
88%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$62,205
$62,927
Median debt
$19,500
$21,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$36,013
$33,013
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$15,962
$12,674
$30,001–$48,000
$18,362
$12,514
$48,001–$75,000
$22,712
$14,513
$75,001–$110,000
$25,917
$23,421
Over $110,000
$44,990
$46,711
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Economics $81,567
- International relations $57,783
- Psychology $55,288
- Communication studies $53,026
- Sociology and Anthropology $52,622
- Economics $92,453
- Psychology $36,430
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.