Linfield vs Randolph-Macon
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Linfield UniversityMcMinnville, ORCompass Score: Very good · Top 31%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Randolph-Macon CollegeAshland, VACompass Score: Very good · Top 35%
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, Randolph-Macon has the lower price after aid: $16,601 a year, against $20,059 at Linfield.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Linfield: $78,638, against $58,448 at Randolph-Macon.
- Median debt is lower at Linfield: $25,000, against $27,000 at Randolph-Macon.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
McMinnville, OR
Ashland, VA
Setting
Town
Suburb
Students
1,726
1,523
Sports
NCAA Division III · Northwest Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
85%
87%
Average SAT
Not reported
1095
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
21–27
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
70%
First-year retention
80%
84%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$78,638
$58,448
Median debt
$25,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$26,536
$27,866
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,059
$16,601
$30,001–$48,000
$18,664
$20,983
$48,001–$75,000
$22,806
$23,357
$75,001–$110,000
$26,070
$26,303
Over $110,000
$32,519
$32,226
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $109,374
- Accounting $78,683
- Business administration $77,983
- Finance $67,946
- Marketing $66,731
- Business (general) $71,844
- Political science $71,111
- Communication studies $61,867
- Biology $58,821
- Natural resources and conservation $54,186
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.