Linfield vs Wheaton
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Linfield UniversityMcMinnville, ORCompass Score: Very good · Top 31%ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Wheaton CollegeWheaton, ILCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 10%
At a glance
- Wheaton has the higher graduation rate: 85% against 70% at Linfield.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Wheaton has the lower price after aid: $20,553 a year, against $22,806 at Linfield.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Linfield: $78,638, against $63,756 at Wheaton.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 31%
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 10%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 16%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 5%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 43%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
McMinnville, OR
Wheaton, IL
Setting
Town
Suburb
Students
1,726
2,799
Sports
NCAA Division III · Northwest Conference
NCAA Division III · College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin
Admission
Admission rate
85%
87%
Average SAT
Not reported
1380
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
28–32
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
85%
First-year retention
80%
93%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$78,638
$63,756
Median debt
$25,000
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$26,536
$26,975
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,059
$20,001
$30,001–$48,000
$18,664
$18,587
$48,001–$75,000
$22,806
$20,553
$75,001–$110,000
$26,070
$24,176
Over $110,000
$32,519
$33,435
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $109,374
- Accounting $78,683
- Business administration $77,983
- Finance $67,946
- Marketing $66,731
- Economics $84,829
- Managerial economics $80,258
- Health sciences $69,566
- International relations $65,230
- Communication studies $60,695
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.