Loras vs North Central
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Loras CollegeDubuque, IACompass Score: Very good · Top 35%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.North Central UniversityMinneapolis, MNCompass Score: Good · Top 40%
At a glance
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Loras has the lower price after aid: $15,624 a year, against $23,892 at North Central.
- Loras has the lower average price after aid: $20,716 a year, against $25,817 at North Central.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Loras: $58,289, against $45,064 at North Central.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 35%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 40%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 23%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 26%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Dubuque, IA
Minneapolis, MN
Setting
City
City
Students
1,213
984
Sports
NCAA Division III · American Rivers Conference
NCAA Division III · Upper Midwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
100%
99%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
66%
First-year retention
82%
82%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,289
$45,064
Median debt
$26,000
$23,200
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,716
$25,817
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,479
$20,450
$30,001–$48,000
$17,033
$22,393
$48,001–$75,000
$15,624
$23,892
$75,001–$110,000
$20,233
$28,167
Over $110,000
$23,039
$30,213
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Finance $78,989
- Accounting $74,811
- Marketing $69,010
- Business administration $65,266
- Public relations $62,087
- Business administration $61,287
- Marketing $50,707
- Teacher education $46,380
- Pastoral counseling $41,979
- Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity Studies $39,407
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.