Lyon vs Tougaloo
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lyon CollegeBatesville, ARCompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Tougaloo CollegeTougaloo, MSCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Lyon has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 33% at Tougaloo.
- Tougaloo has the lower average price after aid: $17,043 a year, against $19,616 at Lyon.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Lyon: $44,232, against $34,724 at Tougaloo.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 38%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Batesville, AR
Tougaloo, MS
Setting
Town
City
Students
584
725
Sports
NCAA Division III · St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NAIA · HBCU Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
63%
60%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
33%
First-year retention
71%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,232
$34,724
Median debt
$21,500
$30,046
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,616
$17,043
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,084
$17,294
$30,001–$48,000
$16,695
$17,523
$48,001–$75,000
$17,348
$17,744
$75,001–$110,000
$20,936
$14,396
Over $110,000
$23,391
$16,266
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Sociology $42,121
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.