Marian vs St. Bonaventure
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Marian UniversityIndianapolis, INCompass Score: Good · Top 43%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.St. Bonaventure UniversitySaint Bonaventure, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 31%
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, St. Bonaventure has the lower price after aid: $15,651 a year, against $23,195 at Marian.
- Marian has the lower average price after aid: about $24,000 a year, against about $27,000 at St. Bonaventure.
- Marian admits 95% of applicants, and St. Bonaventure admits 82%.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 25%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
Regional universities
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Saint Bonaventure, NY
Setting
City
Town
Students
3,586
2,603
Sports
NAIA · Crossroads League
NCAA Division I · Atlantic 10 Conference
Admission
Admission rate
95%
82%
Average SAT
Not reported
1197
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
24–30
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
67%
First-year retention
76%
86%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,759
$57,214
Median debt
$27,000
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $24,000
About $27,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $23,000
About $16,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $20,000
About $18,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $22,000
About $24,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $26,000
About $31,000
Over $110,000
About $27,000
About $30,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $81,706
- Finance $77,771
- Accounting $76,780
- Business administration $66,959
- Kinesiology and exercise science $66,491
- Finance $92,426
- Accounting $79,690
- Business administration $71,066
- Marketing $67,383
- Journalism $58,816
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.