Mars Hill vs Missouri Valley
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mars Hill UniversityMars Hill, NCCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Missouri Valley CollegeMarshall, MOCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Mars Hill has the higher graduation rate: 45% against 22% at Missouri Valley.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Missouri Valley has the lower price after aid: $16,039 a year, against $20,628 at Mars Hill.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Mars Hill, NC
Marshall, MO
Setting
Rural
Town
Students
1,049
1,619
Sports
NCAA Division II · South Atlantic Conference
NAIA · Heart of America Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
68%
69%
Average SAT
Not reported
974
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–20
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
22%
First-year retention
69%
53%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,781
$43,221
Median debt
$26,000
$25,950
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,910
$18,086
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,021
$16,132
$30,001–$48,000
$17,020
$15,854
$48,001–$75,000
$20,628
$16,039
$75,001–$110,000
$21,637
$20,499
Over $110,000
$21,972
$22,669
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $74,707
- Business administration $57,743
- Social work $51,053
- Teacher education $47,176
- Criminal justice $41,384
- Business administration $55,699
- Kinesiology and exercise science $49,877
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.