Mars Hill vs Tennessee Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mars Hill UniversityMars Hill, NCCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Tennessee Wesleyan UniversityAthens, TNCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Tennessee Wesleyan has the higher graduation rate: 48% against 45% at Mars Hill.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Tennessee Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $12,647 a year, against $20,628 at Mars Hill.
- Tennessee Wesleyan has the lower average price after aid: $14,836 a year, against $19,910 at Mars Hill.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Mars Hill, NC
Athens, TN
Setting
Rural
Town
Students
1,049
1,074
Sports
NCAA Division II · South Atlantic Conference
NAIA · Appalachian Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
68%
69%
Average SAT
Not reported
1090
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
19–23
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
48%
First-year retention
69%
72%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,781
$45,989
Median debt
$26,000
$20,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,910
$14,836
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,021
$11,609
$30,001–$48,000
$17,020
$11,088
$48,001–$75,000
$20,628
$12,647
$75,001–$110,000
$21,637
$16,043
Over $110,000
$21,972
$18,980
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $74,707
- Business administration $57,743
- Social work $51,053
- Teacher education $47,176
- Criminal justice $41,384
- Nursing $71,084
- Accounting $70,782
- Marketing $61,564
- Business administration $61,103
- Teacher education $46,925
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.