Marymount vs Mount St. Mary's
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Marymount UniversityArlington, VACompass Score: GoodBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount St. Mary's UniversityEmmitsburg, MDCompass Score: Good · Top 38%
At a glance
- Mount St. Mary's has the higher graduation rate: 65% against 54% at Marymount.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Mount St. Mary's has the lower price after aid: $11,603 a year, against $27,413 at Marymount.
- Mount St. Mary's has the lower average price after aid: $22,655 a year, against $29,137 at Marymount.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 38%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
The college
Category
National universities
Regional universities
Location
Arlington, VA
Emmitsburg, MD
Setting
City
Rural
Students
3,667
2,499
Sports
NCAA Division III · Atlantic East Conference
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
93%
74%
Average SAT
Not reported
1176
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
19–27
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
65%
First-year retention
73%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$67,516
$64,072
Median debt
$25,000
$25,391
Cost
Average price after aid
$29,137
$22,655
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$27,413
$11,603
$30,001–$48,000
$27,111
$20,067
$48,001–$75,000
$27,718
$21,942
$75,001–$110,000
$31,962
$27,170
Over $110,000
$30,618
$31,330
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $94,503
- Computing and information science $82,795
- Business administration $80,196
- Criminal justice $73,058
- Biology $66,460
- Computing and information science $87,360
- Accounting $81,796
- Biology $76,062
- Business (general) $74,839
- Criminology $60,428
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.