McDaniel vs University of Mount Union
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.McDaniel CollegeWestminster, MDCompass Score: Good · Top 44%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.University of Mount UnionAlliance, OHCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- McDaniel has the higher graduation rate: 63% against 59% at University of Mount Union.
- For families earning up to $30,000, McDaniel has the lower price after aid: $12,210 a year, against $16,786 at University of Mount Union.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at McDaniel: $60,663, against $53,217 at University of Mount Union.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Westminster, MD
Alliance, OH
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,882
2,169
Sports
NCAA Division III · Centennial Conference
NCAA Division III · Ohio Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
78%
78%
Average SAT
Not reported
1088
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
18–25
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
59%
First-year retention
76%
77%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$60,663
$53,217
Median debt
$25,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,916
$23,280
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$12,210
$16,786
$30,001–$48,000
$17,261
$19,428
$48,001–$75,000
$19,796
$17,741
$75,001–$110,000
$21,408
$23,474
Over $110,000
$30,694
$26,495
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $93,347
- Business administration $78,830
- Communication studies $65,411
- Psychology $60,264
- Sociology $55,851
- Nursing $85,186
- Mechanical engineering $80,963
- Finance $80,777
- Accounting $80,429
- Liberal arts $76,675
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.