McNeese State vs Northeastern Illinois
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.McNeese State UniversityLake Charles, LACompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, ILCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- McNeese State has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 22% at Northeastern Illinois.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, McNeese State has the lower price after aid: $11,640 a year, against $15,077 at Northeastern Illinois.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Northeastern Illinois: $52,234, against $46,453 at McNeese State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Lake Charles, LA
Chicago, IL
Setting
City
City
Students
6,060
5,504
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southland Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
78%
75%
Average SAT
1087
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–23
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
22%
First-year retention
68%
52%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,453
$52,234
Median debt
$23,000
$14,600
Cost
Average price after aid
$12,493
$14,109
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,482
$13,709
$30,001–$48,000
$11,067
$12,824
$48,001–$75,000
$11,640
$15,077
$75,001–$110,000
$16,190
$20,464
Over $110,000
$18,250
$25,001
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Engineering (general) $107,319
- Nursing $85,928
- Accounting $67,331
- Computer science $64,834
- Finance $62,705
- Computer science $88,917
- Business administration $69,226
- Marketing $69,011
- Accounting $68,328
- Mathematics $66,269
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.