Mercyhurst vs Muskingum
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mercyhurst UniversityErie, PACompass Score: Good · Top 49%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Muskingum UniversityNew Concord, OHCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Mercyhurst has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 56% at Muskingum.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Muskingum has the lower price after aid: $14,684 a year, against $22,626 at Mercyhurst.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Erie, PA
New Concord, OH
Setting
City
Rural
Students
2,668
2,108
Sports
NCAA Division I · Northeast Conference
NCAA Division III · Ohio Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
81%
82%
Average SAT
Not reported
1017
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
17–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
56%
First-year retention
80%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$47,452
$48,440
Median debt
$25,305
$25,369
Cost
Average price after aid
About $19,000
About $20,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $23,000
About $15,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $22,000
About $14,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $17,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $22,000
About $21,000
Over $110,000
About $17,000
About $23,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations $86,597
- Accounting $86,596
- Health sciences $83,812
- Political science $76,154
- Marketing $74,187
- Nursing $78,994
- Other health professions and related clinical sciences $64,805
- Business administration $60,901
- Marketing $60,451
- Criminal justice $51,445
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.