Mercyhurst vs Saint Ambrose
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mercyhurst UniversityErie, PACompass Score: Good · Top 49%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Saint Ambrose UniversityDavenport, IACompass Score: Good · Top 47%
At a glance
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Mercyhurst has the lower price after aid: $17,197 a year, against $22,408 at Saint Ambrose.
- Mercyhurst has the lower average price after aid: $19,444 a year, against $24,691 at Saint Ambrose.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Saint Ambrose: $59,531, against $47,452 at Mercyhurst.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
National universities
Location
Erie, PA
Davenport, IA
Setting
City
City
Students
2,668
2,703
Sports
NCAA Division I · Northeast Conference
NAIA · Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
81%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1093
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–25
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
61%
First-year retention
80%
76%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$47,452
$59,531
Median debt
$25,305
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,444
$24,691
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$22,626
$22,037
$30,001–$48,000
$22,429
$21,729
$48,001–$75,000
$17,197
$22,408
$75,001–$110,000
$21,665
$24,776
Over $110,000
$16,748
$27,807
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations $86,597
- Accounting $86,596
- Health sciences $83,812
- Political science $76,154
- Marketing $74,187
- Accounting $83,719
- Business administration $77,850
- Nursing $75,832
- Management science $74,438
- Finance $72,886
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.