Meredith vs Virginia Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Meredith CollegeRaleigh, NCCompass Score: Very good · Top 26%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Virginia Wesleyan UniversityVirginia Beach, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Meredith has the higher graduation rate: 70% against 42% at Virginia Wesleyan.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Virginia Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $14,080 a year, against $17,207 at Meredith.
- Virginia Wesleyan has the lower average price after aid: $19,676 a year, against $22,488 at Meredith.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Raleigh, NC
Virginia Beach, VA
Setting
City
City
Students
1,576
1,711
Sports
NCAA Division III · USA South Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
73%
Average SAT
1204
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
23–29
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
42%
First-year retention
79%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,539
$50,074
Median debt
$25,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,488
$19,676
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,207
$14,080
$30,001–$48,000
$19,006
$17,108
$48,001–$75,000
$18,064
$15,967
$75,001–$110,000
$23,678
$22,603
Over $110,000
$29,117
$24,782
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Biology $60,099
- Psychology $49,124
- Business administration $63,159
- Interdisciplinary studies $53,272
- Criminal justice $52,247
- Psychology $43,511
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.