Merrimack vs Providence
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Merrimack CollegeNorth Andover, MACompass Score: Very good · Top 34%ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Providence CollegeProvidence, RICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 9%
At a glance
- Providence has the higher graduation rate: 86% against 70% at Merrimack.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Providence has the lower price after aid: $25,296 a year, against $31,962 at Merrimack.
- Merrimack has the lower average price after aid: $37,927 a year, against $48,523 at Providence.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 9%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 5%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
North Andover, MA
Providence, RI
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
5,688
4,635
Sports
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Big East Conference
Admission
Admission rate
70%
51%
Average SAT
Not reported
1346
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
29–32
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
86%
First-year retention
79%
94%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$75,584
$87,054
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$37,927
$48,523
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$31,710
$28,152
$30,001–$48,000
$29,417
$21,835
$48,001–$75,000
$31,962
$25,296
$75,001–$110,000
$36,045
$33,169
Over $110,000
$41,050
$56,699
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $114,115
- Civil engineering $90,714
- Mechanical engineering $85,545
- Biology $79,581
- Physiology and pathology $74,379
- Accounting $103,245
- Finance $103,021
- Economics $95,590
- Biology $93,757
- Mathematics $90,503
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.