Merrimack vs Salve Regina
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Merrimack CollegeNorth Andover, MACompass Score: Very good · Top 34%A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Salve Regina UniversityNewport, RICompass Score: Excellent · Top 19%
At a glance
- Salve Regina has the higher graduation rate: 77% against 70% at Merrimack.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Salve Regina has the lower price after aid: $26,939 a year, against $31,710 at Merrimack.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
North Andover, MA
Newport, RI
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
5,688
2,836
Sports
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
70%
68%
Average SAT
Not reported
1232
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
26–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
77%
First-year retention
79%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$75,584
$72,975
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $38,000
About $37,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $32,000
About $27,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $29,000
About $31,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $32,000
About $31,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $36,000
About $34,000
Over $110,000
About $41,000
About $39,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $114,115
- Civil engineering $90,714
- Mechanical engineering $85,545
- Biology $79,581
- Physiology and pathology $74,379
- Finance $89,657
- Nursing $89,102
- Accounting $76,599
- Business administration $70,694
- Health administration $70,320
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.