Messiah vs Stevenson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Messiah UniversityMechanicsburg, PACompass Score: Excellent · Top 20%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Stevenson UniversityOwings Mills, MDCompass Score: Good · Top 39%
At a glance
- Messiah has the higher graduation rate: 75% against 68% at Stevenson.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Messiah has the lower price after aid: $20,916 a year, against $26,937 at Stevenson.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Stevenson: $62,079, against $54,064 at Messiah.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 14%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 27%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Mechanicsburg, PA
Owings Mills, MD
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
3,344
3,507
Sports
NCAA Division III · Middle Atlantic States Athletic Corporation
NCAA Division III · Middle Atlantic States Athletic Corporation
Admission
Admission rate
79%
79%
Average SAT
1236
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
26–31
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
68%
First-year retention
89%
79%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$54,064
$62,079
Median debt
$25,621
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$26,502
$26,505
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$19,393
$15,894
$30,001–$48,000
$20,317
$20,935
$48,001–$75,000
$20,916
$26,937
$75,001–$110,000
$23,574
$29,277
Over $110,000
$31,847
$31,892
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Engineering (general) $84,927
- Accounting $81,907
- Nursing $77,824
- Computer science $74,941
- Marketing $67,900
- Information science $113,367
- Nursing $92,710
- Networking $81,700
- Accounting $81,299
- Biochemistry $73,584
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.