Metropolitan State vs Salem State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Metropolitan State UniversitySaint Paul, MNCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Salem State UniversitySalem, MACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Salem State has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 44% at Metropolitan State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Salem State has the lower price after aid: $10,516 a year, against $15,238 at Metropolitan State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Metropolitan State: $64,705, against $56,662 at Salem State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
Value
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 9%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Saint Paul, MN
Salem, MA
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
6,005
6,239
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · Massachusetts State College Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
99%
96%
Average SAT
1020
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
16–21
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
50%
First-year retention
68%
75%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$64,705
$56,662
Median debt
$17,100
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$16,863
$15,996
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$15,238
$10,516
$30,001–$48,000
$16,656
$13,870
$48,001–$75,000
$16,659
$13,821
$75,001–$110,000
$18,994
$17,590
Over $110,000
$21,905
$23,223
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $92,342
- Computing and information science $85,000
- Information technology $83,558
- Nursing $83,504
- Information science $81,539
- Nursing $95,550
- Computing and information science $92,380
- Chemistry $81,266
- Business administration $67,789
- Biology $67,551
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.