Midwestern State vs Norfolk State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Midwestern State UniversityWichita Falls, TXCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Norfolk State UniversityNorfolk, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Midwestern State has the higher graduation rate: 43% against 39% at Norfolk State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Midwestern State has the lower price after aid: $11,445 a year, against $15,507 at Norfolk State.
- Midwestern State has the lower average price after aid: $11,656 a year, against $15,282 at Norfolk State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 14%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
Norfolk, VA
Setting
City
City
Students
5,573
6,045
Sports
NCAA Division II · Lone Star Conference
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
94%
88%
Average SAT
Not reported
927
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
39%
First-year retention
64%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$55,747
$44,666
Median debt
$21,030
$29,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$11,656
$15,282
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$8,856
$12,804
$30,001–$48,000
$9,886
$13,905
$48,001–$75,000
$11,445
$15,507
$75,001–$110,000
$15,365
$17,972
Over $110,000
$18,988
$26,175
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Mechanical engineering $87,160
- Nursing $87,009
- Finance $84,547
- Allied health $83,622
- Dental assisting $74,347
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.