Millsaps vs Oakwood
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Millsaps CollegeJackson, MSCompass Score: Good · Top 40%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Oakwood UniversityHuntsville, ALCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Millsaps has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 45% at Oakwood.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Millsaps: $53,848, against $42,488 at Oakwood.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Jackson, MS
Huntsville, AL
Setting
City
City
Students
626
1,319
Sports
NCAA Division III · Southern Athletic Asssociation
NAIA · HBCU Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
43%
45%
Average SAT
1181
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
21–28
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
45%
First-year retention
58%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$53,848
$42,488
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$26,034
$25,669
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$24,215
$23,999
$30,001–$48,000
$23,719
$22,444
$48,001–$75,000
$23,062
$24,501
$75,001–$110,000
$27,049
$28,074
Over $110,000
$30,945
$27,219
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $76,477
- Accounting $72,642
- Human resources $62,069
- Liberal arts $55,834
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.