Morgan State vs Western Michigan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Morgan State UniversityBaltimore, MDCompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Western Michigan UniversityKalamazoo, MICompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Western Michigan has the higher graduation rate: 58% against 41% at Morgan State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Western Michigan has the lower price after aid: $5,263 a year, against $9,585 at Morgan State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Western Michigan: $53,562, against $50,698 at Morgan State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Baltimore, MD
Kalamazoo, MI
Setting
City
City
Students
9,808
16,693
Sports
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Mid-American Conference
Admission
Admission rate
82%
85%
Average SAT
971
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
16–21
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
58%
First-year retention
73%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,698
$53,562
Median debt
$27,250
$26,188
Cost
Average price after aid
About $15,000
About $15,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $10,000
About $5,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $13,000
About $6,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $16,000
About $14,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $20,000
About $18,000
Over $110,000
About $21,000
About $24,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Electrical engineering $98,640
- Computer science $90,183
- Civil engineering $88,870
- Information science $83,331
- Industrial Engineering $81,416
- Paper Science and Engineering $102,825
- Electrical engineering $95,469
- Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering $94,177
- Industrial Engineering $92,306
- Chemical Engineering $91,777
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.