Mount Aloysius vs Mount Mercy
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Aloysius CollegeCresson, PACompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Mercy UniversityCedar Rapids, IACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, Mount Mercy has the lower price after aid: $17,070 a year, against $21,530 at Mount Aloysius.
- Mount Mercy has the lower average price after aid: $20,168 a year, against $22,344 at Mount Aloysius.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Mount Mercy: $60,787, against $46,165 at Mount Aloysius.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional universities
Location
Cresson, PA
Cedar Rapids, IA
Setting
Town
City
Students
2,967
1,451
Sports
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
NAIA · Heart of America Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
82%
83%
Average SAT
1070
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
58%
First-year retention
56%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,165
$60,787
Median debt
$24,287
$23,699
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,344
$20,168
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$21,530
$17,070
$30,001–$48,000
$20,389
$15,294
$48,001–$75,000
$19,770
$16,883
$75,001–$110,000
$21,769
$20,311
Over $110,000
$26,786
$25,244
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $87,928
- Allied health $66,959
- Accounting $55,261
- Business administration $45,714
- Nursing $75,613
- Business (general) $64,408
- Human resources $61,772
- Accounting $59,763
- Finance $57,928
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.