Mount Mary vs Wheeling
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Mary UniversityMilwaukee, WICompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Wheeling UniversityWheeling, WVCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Mount Mary has the higher graduation rate: 43% against 23% at Wheeling.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Wheeling: $57,949, against $48,745 at Mount Mary.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Wheeling, WV
Setting
City
City
Students
1,224
748
Sports
NCAA Division III
NCAA Division II · Mountain East Conference
Admission
Admission rate
62%
63%
Average SAT
1020
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–21
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
23%
First-year retention
67%
54%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$48,745
$57,949
Median debt
$25,288
$25,125
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,144
$20,503
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,155
$17,739
$30,001–$48,000
$19,013
$19,718
$48,001–$75,000
$19,277
$19,913
$75,001–$110,000
$20,584
$22,608
Over $110,000
$27,371
$22,824
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Communication studies $56,763
- Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations $55,207
- Design $49,881
- Rehabilitation and therapy $47,827
- Psychology $45,377
- Business administration $66,949
- Psychology $45,395
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.