Mount Saint Mary's vs St. Catherine
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Saint Mary's UniversityLos Angeles, CACompass Score: GoodBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.St. Catherine UniversitySaint Paul, MNCompass Score: Good · Top 37%
At a glance
- St. Catherine has the higher graduation rate: 61% against 53% at Mount Saint Mary's.
- For families earning up to $30,000, St. Catherine has the lower price after aid: $17,890 a year, against $23,849 at Mount Saint Mary's.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Mount Saint Mary's: $72,379, against $59,282 at St. Catherine.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 27%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
The college
Category
Regional universities
National universities
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Saint Paul, MN
Setting
City
City
Students
2,308
3,533
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
73%
92%
Average SAT
Not reported
1147
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–26
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
61%
First-year retention
71%
80%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$72,379
$59,282
Median debt
$25,949
$24,181
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,413
$19,764
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$23,849
$17,890
$30,001–$48,000
$13,718
$15,190
$48,001–$75,000
$17,876
$15,451
$75,001–$110,000
$30,247
$19,376
Over $110,000
$18,762
$27,021
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $119,050
- Pre-health $105,024
- Accounting $74,449
- Business administration $63,194
- Sociology $59,575
- Economics $87,821
- Nursing $85,514
- Allied health $83,211
- Accounting $75,526
- Business administration $67,876
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.