Mount St. Mary's vs Waldorf
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount St. Mary's UniversityEmmitsburg, MDCompass Score: Good · Top 38%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Waldorf UniversityForest City, IACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Mount St. Mary's has the higher graduation rate: 65% against 21% at Waldorf.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Mount St. Mary's has the lower price after aid: $11,603 a year, against $16,448 at Waldorf.
- Waldorf has the lower average price after aid: $19,693 a year, against $22,655 at Mount St. Mary's.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 38%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Emmitsburg, MD
Forest City, IA
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
2,499
2,657
Sports
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
NAIA · Great Plains Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
77%
Average SAT
1176
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–27
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
21%
First-year retention
71%
44%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$64,072
$51,165
Median debt
$25,391
$18,752
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,655
$19,693
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$11,603
$16,448
$30,001–$48,000
$20,067
$18,378
$48,001–$75,000
$21,942
$23,045
$75,001–$110,000
$27,170
$21,244
Over $110,000
$31,330
$23,667
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $87,360
- Accounting $81,796
- Biology $76,062
- Business (general) $74,839
- Criminology $60,428
- Fire science $100,060
- Human resources $94,822
- Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $83,151
- Homeland Security $76,520
- Business (general) $63,357
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.