Nelson vs St. Thomas Aquinas
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Nelson UniversityWaxahachie, TXCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.St. Thomas Aquinas CollegeSparkill, NYCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- St. Thomas Aquinas has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 42% at Nelson.
- For families earning up to $30,000, St. Thomas Aquinas has the lower price after aid: $11,746 a year, against $17,583 at Nelson.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at St. Thomas Aquinas: $62,909, against $46,238 at Nelson.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Waxahachie, TX
Sparkill, NY
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
1,725
1,950
Sports
NAIA · Sooner Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · East Coast Conference
Admission
Admission rate
89%
93%
Average SAT
980
1000
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
54%
First-year retention
75%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,238
$62,909
Median debt
$24,725
$23,198
Cost
Average price after aid
About $22,000
About $20,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $18,000
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $18,000
About $14,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $22,000
About $24,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $24,000
About $24,000
Over $110,000
About $25,000
About $27,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Marketing $66,477
- Business administration $52,229
- Education (general) $50,491
- Liberal arts $47,277
- Bible/Biblical Studies $43,808
- Accounting $79,896
- Business administration $64,075
- Psychology $60,409
- Criminal justice $57,707
- Communication studies $57,112
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.