New Saint Andrews vs Sweet Briar
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.New Saint Andrews CollegeMoscow, IDCompass Score: Excellent · Top 20%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sweet Briar CollegeSweet Briar, VACompass Score: Good · Top 49%
At a glance
- New Saint Andrews has the higher graduation rate: 74% against 52% at Sweet Briar.
- New Saint Andrews admits 84% of applicants, and Sweet Briar admits 76%.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
Value
Not rated
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Moscow, ID
Sweet Briar, VA
Setting
Town
Rural
Students
351
464
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
84%
76%
Average SAT
1262
1230
ACT middle 50%
23–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
52%
First-year retention
85%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
Not reported
$51,943
Median debt
Not reported
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
Not reported
About $18,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
Not reported
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
Not reported
About $13,000
$48,001–$75,000
Not reported
About $15,000
$75,001–$110,000
Not reported
About $20,000
Over $110,000
Not reported
About $25,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.