Newman vs North Central
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Newman UniversityWichita, KSCompass Score: GoodB+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.North Central CollegeNaperville, ILCompass Score: Very good · Top 33%
At a glance
- North Central has the higher graduation rate: 64% against 53% at Newman.
- For families earning up to $30,000, North Central has the lower price after aid: $12,507 a year, against $18,060 at Newman.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at North Central: $60,123, against $55,041 at Newman.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 33%
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 28%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 41%
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 45%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Wichita, KS
Naperville, IL
Setting
City
City
Students
2,787
2,856
Sports
NCAA Division II · Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division III · College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin
Admission
Admission rate
74%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1213
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
24–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
64%
First-year retention
69%
77%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$55,041
$60,123
Median debt
$20,801
$24,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,971
$21,044
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,060
$12,507
$30,001–$48,000
$16,366
$13,486
$48,001–$75,000
$21,234
$16,362
$75,001–$110,000
$17,142
$20,590
Over $110,000
$21,774
$26,961
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $77,122
- Biology $63,923
- Teacher education $45,869
- Management science $105,350
- Finance $81,562
- Economics $80,494
- Computer science $79,877
- Accounting $78,125
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.