Norfolk State vs Southern Oregon
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Norfolk State UniversityNorfolk, VACompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southern Oregon UniversityAshland, ORCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Southern Oregon has the higher graduation rate: 43% against 39% at Norfolk State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Southern Oregon: $49,175, against $44,666 at Norfolk State.
- Median debt is lower at Southern Oregon: $20,332, against $29,000 at Norfolk State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Norfolk, VA
Ashland, OR
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
6,045
5,371
Sports
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
NAIA · Cascade Collegiate Conference
Admission
Admission rate
88%
89%
Average SAT
927
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
16–22
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
39%
43%
First-year retention
73%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,666
$49,175
Median debt
$29,000
$20,332
Cost
Average price after aid
$15,282
$16,732
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$12,804
$11,830
$30,001–$48,000
$13,905
$12,466
$48,001–$75,000
$15,507
$15,813
$75,001–$110,000
$17,972
$22,415
Over $110,000
$26,175
$24,181
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Computing and information science $75,596
- Business administration $65,171
- Mathematics $64,748
- Biology $63,008
- Social sciences $61,526
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.