Northeastern Illinois vs Washburn
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, ILCompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Washburn UniversityTopeka, KSCompass Score: Good · Top 40%
At a glance
- Washburn has the higher graduation rate: 53% against 22% at Northeastern Illinois.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Northeastern Illinois has the lower price after aid: $13,709 a year, against $20,310 at Washburn.
- Median debt is lower at Northeastern Illinois: $14,600, against $18,127 at Washburn.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Chicago, IL
Topeka, KS
Setting
City
City
Students
5,504
5,663
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division II · Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
75%
Not reported
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
53%
First-year retention
52%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,234
$49,774
Median debt
$14,600
$18,127
Cost
Average price after aid
$14,109
$15,280
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$13,709
$20,310
$30,001–$48,000
$12,824
$9,693
$48,001–$75,000
$15,077
$10,758
$75,001–$110,000
$20,464
$13,922
Over $110,000
$25,001
$15,472
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $88,917
- Business administration $69,226
- Marketing $69,011
- Accounting $68,328
- Mathematics $66,269
- Engineering-Related Fields $80,436
- Nursing $79,109
- Computing and information science $78,778
- Finance $76,175
- Allied health $75,787
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.