Northeastern Illinois vs Winthrop
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, ILCompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Winthrop UniversityRock Hill, SCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Winthrop has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 22% at Northeastern Illinois.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Northeastern Illinois: $52,234, against $47,185 at Winthrop.
- Median debt is lower at Northeastern Illinois: $14,600, against $26,975 at Winthrop.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Chicago, IL
Rock Hill, SC
Setting
City
City
Students
5,504
4,694
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division I · Big South Conference
Admission
Admission rate
75%
79%
Average SAT
Not reported
1139
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–27
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
57%
First-year retention
52%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,234
$47,185
Median debt
$14,600
$26,975
Cost
Average price after aid
$14,109
$15,343
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$13,709
$12,608
$30,001–$48,000
$12,824
$12,983
$48,001–$75,000
$15,077
$13,966
$75,001–$110,000
$20,464
$18,518
Over $110,000
$25,001
$21,359
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $88,917
- Business administration $69,226
- Marketing $69,011
- Accounting $68,328
- Mathematics $66,269
- Business administration $61,987
- Chemistry $60,324
- Design $54,194
- Allied health $52,363
- Biology $50,536
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.