Northwestern vs St. Bonaventure
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Northwestern CollegeOrange City, IACompass Score: Good · Top 46%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.St. Bonaventure UniversitySaint Bonaventure, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 31%
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, St. Bonaventure has the lower price after aid: $15,651 a year, against $27,059 at Northwestern.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at St. Bonaventure: $57,214, against $49,802 at Northwestern.
- Median debt is lower at Northwestern: $23,249, against $26,000 at St. Bonaventure.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Orange City, IA
Saint Bonaventure, NY
Setting
Town
Town
Students
1,665
2,603
Sports
NAIA · Great Plains Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Atlantic 10 Conference
Admission
Admission rate
80%
82%
Average SAT
Not reported
1197
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
24–30
Outcomes
Graduation rate
66%
67%
First-year retention
74%
86%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,802
$57,214
Median debt
$23,249
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$25,907
$27,074
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$27,059
$15,651
$30,001–$48,000
$19,503
$17,949
$48,001–$75,000
$20,572
$24,097
$75,001–$110,000
$24,265
$30,751
Over $110,000
$29,539
$30,441
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $71,322
- Business administration $68,565
- Accounting $59,192
- Kinesiology and exercise science $51,829
- Teacher education $47,640
- Finance $92,426
- Accounting $79,690
- Business administration $71,066
- Marketing $67,383
- Journalism $58,816
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.