Norwich vs United States Air Force Academy
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Norwich UniversityNorthfield, VTCompass Score: Good · Top 36%A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.United States Air Force AcademyUSAF Academy, COCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 2%
At a glance
- United States Air Force Academy has the higher graduation rate: 88% against 60% at Norwich.
- Norwich admits 74% of applicants, and United States Air Force Academy admits 14%.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 3%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
Not rated
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional colleges
Location
Northfield, VT
USAF Academy, CO
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
3,274
4,124
Sports
NCAA Division III · Great Northeast Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Mountain West Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
14%
Average SAT
1190
1350
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
26–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
88%
First-year retention
79%
97%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$65,575
Not reported
Median debt
$25,000
Not reported
Cost
Average price after aid
About $22,000
Not reported
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $16,000
Not reported
$30,001–$48,000
About $16,000
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
About $17,000
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
About $22,000
Not reported
Over $110,000
About $28,000
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Information technology $90,628
- Nursing $86,054
- Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations $85,184
- Mechanical engineering $82,477
- Construction Management $76,175
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.